The Trouble with Normal.dot

June 6, 2008

“The trouble with normal is it always gets worse” – Bruce Cockburn

trouble with normal.dot

This should be obvious, but don’t make your customers care about things they’d rather not care about. I use Word as my email editor in Outlook. If I have Outlook open for an extended period, on shutdown I get a message asking if I want to save the changes I’ve made to normal.dot.

Yes, I know what normal.dot is – but I made no intentional changes to it. Yes, I know how to change my Outlook settings to avoid using Word as the editor. Yes, I know I could switch to a mac, or OpenOffice, or whatever.

No, I shouldn’t have to care about any of that.

What do your customers care about? What elements of your sales process or user experience force them to care about things they’d rather not?

Leave a Reply

